| Travel News Talk
Travel News Talk

Sri Lanka Green Lights Visa-Free Travel Pilot: Welcomed by the Industry

The Government of Sri Lanka has taken a significant step to bolster its tourism sector by granting visa-free entry to tourists from seven countries, including India, China, Russia, Malaysia, Japan, Indonesia, and Thailand. This new pilot initiative, effective immediately and running until March 31, 2024, aims to stimulate tourism and address economic challenges exacerbated by mass protests and shortages in essentials experienced in 2022.

The decision was formalised based on joint proposals presented by key government officials, including the Prime Minister, Minister of Tourism and Lands, Minister of Foreign Affairs, and the Minister of Public Security. Sri Lanka’s commitment to facilitating easier access for tourists reflects a strategic move to revive its economy and attract visitors amid the ongoing global recovery from the impact of the pandemic. The announcement, made by Foreign Affairs Minister Ali Sabry, underscores the government’s dedication to fostering tourism as a crucial component of economic revitalisation. This new framework will be welcomed by the tourism industry, including accommodations along the coastal regions, especially a boutique hotel in Bentota at properties like The Villa Bentota by KK Collection.